FPN Welcomes Dr. Eva Feldman

The Foundation for Peripheral Neuropathy is pleased to welcome Dr. Eva Feldman, MD, PhD, to the Scientific Advisory Board, effective November 2020.

About Dr. Eva Feldman, MD, PhD

Dr. Feldman received her MD and PhD degrees from the University of Michigan, completed a neurology residency at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, and returned to University of Michigan for a neuromuscular fellowship. In addition to her active clinical practice in neurology and position as the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology at the University of Michigan Medical School, Dr. Feldman directed the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute until 2017, and is currently Director of the University of Michigan ALS Center of Excellence. She also runs her own 30-scientist laboratory, the NeuroNetwork for Emerging Therapies, and is the principal investigator of two first-ever FDA approved human clinical trials of intraspinal stem cell implantation therapy for ALS. Dr. Feldman has published more than 460 original peer-reviewed articles, 70 book chapters, and four books and has had continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health for more than 30 years.

She is past president of the Peripheral Nerve Society (PNS) and served as President of the American Neurological Association (ANA) from 2011 to 2013, the third woman to hold this position in 130 years. Among Dr. Feldman’s greatest accomplishments is her training of both scientists and neurologists. Nine scientists have received their Ph.D. degrees under her supervision, and she has trained over 100 postdoctoral fellows and neurologists to specialize in understanding and treating neurological diseases, with an emphasis on ALS and neuropathy.

Dr. Feldman’s numerous honors include both the Early and Distinguished Career Development Awards from University of Michigan and being an elected member of the Association of American Physicians and National Academy of Medicine. In addition, she received the 2016 Castle Connolly National Clinician of the Year award, the 2016 Society for Neuroscience Bernice Grafstein Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Mentoring, and the 2017 Endocrine Society Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research. She was named a 2018 Honorary Fellow of the ANA, and recently honored with the 2019 PNS Alan J. Gebhart Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research. In 2020, Dr. Feldman assumed the Chair of the Neurology and Psychiatry Section for the National Academy of Medicine.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Feldman to the team!

Leave a Comment